Language

Money and insurance

You have the insurance certificate — but where do you go: the organizations working under the state insurance, and how much you pay at the cashier's desk

Universal health insurance has been in effect in Armenia since 1 January 2026. Everyone has written about the law itself, and the general guidance on where to go with the insurance we gave ourselves on the /en/insurance page. What does not exist anywhere is a parsed official registry: the Fund does have a list of organizations, but it is an Armenian page weighing 12.8 MB in a single document, while the address of the Russian version returns an Armenian "404" page. We took that registry apart into a readable list: which organizations in Yerevan work within the system, what co-payments are actually listed in it, and at what point of the route they appear.

Documents and a calculator at a medical centre cash desk

The Law on Universal Health Insurance was adopted on 17 December 2025; for the first groups of the population — children under 18, people 65+, people with disabilities, families of fallen servicemen and several other categories — it came into force on 1 January 2026 (article 45, part 1, point 2, text on arlis.am, checked 29.09.2026). By August 2026 the system covered, according to the Fund, more than 1.8 million people. The insurance certificate is activated in the ArMed application or with the help of the polyclinic; in the list of the insured person's obligations the Fund states directly: "Keep the insurance certificate and present it during treatment". Insurance status is checked in the ArMed system when you apply (uhif.am/am/insurance and uhif.am/am/for-specialists, checked 29.09.2026).

There is an official list of organizations — but it is hard to use

The list of organizations that have a contract with the Fund is published at uhif.am/am/hospitals. We downloaded the page on 17.09.2026: 200 OK, 12.8 MB (12,866,640 bytes) in a single document. This is not a list — it is the whole database dumped into the page markup: 513 organizations, 578 branches, 5,559 doctors with 44 specializations, plus 676 pharmacy organizations with 1,544 branches. For comparison: an ordinary website page weighs tens, more rarely hundreds of kilobytes. The conclusion that such a list is effectively unusable from a phone is our assessment, not a measurement: we did not measure the loading speed.

There is no Russian version. After a redirect the address uhif.am/ru/hospitals returns 200 OK, but the content is an Armenian page reading "404. Page not found" (checked 29.09.2026). The same goes for uhif.am/ru. That is, an official answer to the question of where to go with your insurance does not exist in Russian at all.

The route: without a referral it is paid

The Fund describes the procedure in six steps: book an appointment with the therapist (general practitioner) at your polyclinic (by phone or through ArMed) → activate the certificate → undergo a preventive check-up → receive a referral if the therapist issues one → come with the referral to any medical center in the program → receive treatment and medicines within the package.

Two rules from the Fund's section for specialists (uhif.am/am/for-specialists, checked 29.09.2026) are worth remembering word for word. First: in planned cases the services within the program are provided only if there is a referral generated in the ArMed system, and with it you may apply to any organization that has a contract with the Fund, not only to the partners of your polyclinic (uhif.am/am/for-specialists); the wording "regardless of the place of registration" comes from the Fund's news item of 28.08.2026. Second: if a person comes to a specialist or for a planned laboratory test without a referral, the service is provided on a paid basis — the only exceptions are emergency and urgent cases and those services for which a referral is not required under the current regulation.

The number of consultations is limited. According to the acting director general of the Fund (interview published on the Fund's website on 28.08.2026): for a disease detected for the first time in life, up to 2 consultations with each specialist are reimbursed within a year; for chronic conditions, up to 4 visits a year; for particular diseases the number of visits is set by the relevant sectoral regulations. For children under 18 the package currently contains about 45 specialized consultations and visits.

How much you pay at the cashier's desk

A co-payment (Armenian: hamavchar) is the difference between the real price of the service and the amount the Fund reimburses. The rule is written in the law: the co-payment may not exceed twice the Fund's tariff for the service (article 8, part 5). In the Fund's service catalogue (uhif.am/am/services, 2,887 services, captured 17.09.2026) this rule is built into the figures.

Tariffs for an appointment with a specialist, uhif.am/am/services, captured 17.09.2026
ServiceThe Fund reimbursesMaximum co-paymentItems in the catalogue
Visit to a specialist (ayts)2 000 ֏4 000 ֏63
Consultation by a specialist (khorhrdatvutyun)6 000 ֏12 000 ֏63

In total the "Specialized consultation" category has 149 items. For the remaining 23 (including a dentist's consultation, an orthodontist's appointment on a referral from a pediatric dentist, a number of procedures by a surgeon, an ophthalmologist and an ENT doctor) the co-payment field is empty — they are reimbursed at the tariff in full.

The maximum is a ceiling, not a price. Each organization enters its own amount into the registry for every doctor and every service. We parsed all 13,943 such rows from the uhif.am/am/hospitals dump.

What co-payments are actually listed in the Fund's registry (13,943 rows of "doctor × service"), captured 17.09.2026
Co-paymentVisit (of 5,291 rows)Consultation (of 6,119 rows)
0 ֏3 2393 144
2 000 ֏79966
4 000 ֏1 153184
6 000 ֏—1 322
9 000–10 000 ֏—173
12 000 ֏—1 183
Other values10047

The remaining 2,533 rows carry no amount at all — and this is not careless data entry. We checked each of them against the Fund's service catalogue by the service identifier: all 2,533 fall on items whose co-payment field is empty in the catalogue itself, that is, the service is reimbursed at the tariff in full. Of these, 2,345 are procedures (wound treatment, applying a cast, stopping external bleeding, opening an abscess, removal of a foreign body by an ophthalmologist or an ENT doctor), 168 are a visit for the issue of narcotic and psychotropic medicines (tariff 500 ֏), 17 a dentist's consultation, 3 an orthodontist's appointment on a referral from a pediatric dentist. Separately: 147 rows carry values outside the grid — 8, 200, 1,000, 3,000, 5,000, 8,000 drams; this looks like data-entry errors, which is our interpretation and not the Fund's position, and such values should not be relied on. The conclusion for the patient is simple: for roughly half of the rows the co-payment is zero, but you should ask for the amount at the reception desk of the specific organization before the appointment.

What the insurance does not cover

  • Care in organizations and pharmacies without a contract with the Fund — except for cases expressly provided by law
  • Services and medicines outside the insurance package, including additional and commercial ones
  • Care received without a referral or without the document required by law
  • Experimental and uncertified methods
  • Cosmetic surgery and aesthetic procedures
  • Homeopathy, acupressure, massage, phytotherapy and other alternative medicine
  • Adult dentistry: the insurance covers only urgent dental care — examination and tooth extraction; treatment, implants and orthodontics are at your own expense. Exceptions: children under 18 get their teeth treated and extracted under the insurance, check-ups at ages 6 and 12 and, for bite problems, an orthodontist consultation; people 65+ are entitled to dental prosthetics (except implants, fixed ceramic, metal-ceramic and zirconia prosthetics, and partial clasp dentures); pregnant women get a preventive dental check-up. The Fund's general "not covered" list names prosthetics without reservations, but these exceptions are set out directly in Government Decision No. 1979-N (points 21 and 27).
  • Glasses and contact lenses, hearing aids — with exceptions for social groups and people with disabilities
  • Treatment outside Armenia and travel insurance: the program covers only services on the territory of the Republic of Armenia

Where these organizations are in Yerevan

In our catalogue, as of 17.09.2026, the "Accepts state insurance" mark is held by 167 organizations in Yerevan: 105 clinics, 42 hospitals, 20 laboratories. The mark was assigned from the Fund's official registry, and in individual cases from the organization's own data; the source and the date of the check are shown on the card. The live filter is /en/clinics?insurance=1, it shows 147 clinics and hospitals and combines with the filters by district and form of ownership.

Organizations with the "Accepts state insurance" mark by districts of Yerevan, medaro.am, captured 17.09.2026
DistrictClinicsHospitalsLaboratoriesTotal
Kentron277337
Arabkir224430
Kanaker-Zeytun108119
Ajapnyak103114
Erebuni45312
Nor Nork72312
Malatia-Sebastia63211
Shengavit64111
Avan5308
Davtashen5128
Nork-Marash2204
District not specified1001
Total1054220167

Of the 61 laboratories in the /en/analyses section, 20 points carry the mark: Prom-Test — 6 addresses, Diagen Plus — 5, Doctor Lab — 3, as well as BloodCells at Saryan 25, DavLab in Davtashen, Histogen in Arabkir, SigmaLab in Malatia-Sebastia, TestLab in Erebuni and Yerevan Lab on Titogradyan. Addresses, schedules and phone numbers are on each laboratory's card.

About pharmacies we write nothing

In our database pharmacies have no "accepts state insurance" field at all, so we cannot and do not give any list of pharmacies working under the universal health insurance. In the Fund's official dump the pharmacy part amounts to 676 organizations and 1,544 branches, 1,543 of which have a license number listed. It is in the same place, at uhif.am/am/hospitals, on the "Deghatner" (Pharmacies) tab. Only medicines from the approved list are reimbursed; the Fund's catalogue contains 1,340 of them.

What changes from 2027

At present the premium is the same for everyone — 129,600 drams a year, 10,800 a month (law, article 13; the calculator is on the Fund's website). For people earning 200,001 drams or more a month from at least one employer, the employer withholds it: 4,800 drams a month for salaries up to 500,000 and the full 10,800 above that. At the same time the stamp duty paid to the Zinapah Foundation was cut, so total deductions rose by less: by 300 drams for salaries of 200,001–500,000 (the budget adds another 6,000) and by 3,300 drams for 500,001–1,000,000. For salaries above 1 million the stamp duty was not cut, so the full 10,800 comes out of the salary. Social Package beneficiaries earning up to 500,000 pay another 6,000 drams themselves — the budget does not add it for them. Sole proprietors and notaries pay the full annual premium themselves. These amounts are set for December 2025 and for 2026 (law, article 46, parts 9, 10, 17, 18; the Fund's answers on uhif.am/am, checked 29.09.2026).

From 2027 the law adds employees earning up to 200,000 drams, people working under civil-law contracts, and sole proprietors and notaries with an income of up to 2.4 million drams a year (law, article 45, part 1, point 6). According to an interview with the Fund's management published on its website on 24.08.2026, "the Fund will receive data on individuals earning salaries of up to AMD 200,000 from the State Revenue Committee, and their insurance status will be activated automatically". How much these employees will pay has not been decided yet: the Ministry of Health put a draft law up for public discussion (e-draft.am, 14–29 September 2026) — 2,000 drams a month from the salary, 4,400 from the employer's own funds and another 4,400 from the budget. The same draft would stop the budget's 6,000-dram top-up from December 2026 for those who already earn 200,001–500,000 drams. The draft has not been adopted; confirm the final amounts with the Fund. From 1 January 2027 taxi drivers also join the system — those connected to the tax authority's electronic system who issue an electronic cash-register receipt for every order, or who carry passengers through a ride-hailing platform. This date is set by the amending law HO-135-N of 7 April 2026, and the Fund gives the same date; article 45 of the consolidated law still gives 2028 for point 14 as a whole, and the draft law under discussion adds a separate date for taxi drivers there — 2027. "Under the preliminary model, they will submit an electronic application through the Fund’s website, while payments can be made through electronic wallets, banking applications, or the payment platform available on the website."

If you are a newcomer

There are three different rules here, and they are often confused. First: in part 2 of article 11 of the law most groups are described as "a citizen of the Republic of Armenia, a resident and …" — that is, the privileged categories require citizenship or residency. Second: points 11 and 12 of the same part — employees whose salary is calculated by a tax agent, and sole proprietors and notaries registered in Armenia — are worded without that condition, and the Fund confirms it directly: for employees, sole proprietors and notaries the law sets no citizenship or residency condition. Third, and this is the one usually missed: for a foreign citizen there is a separate provision — article 11, part 1, point 2. A foreign citizen falls under points 11, 12, 14 and 15 only if they hold the right of residence in Armenia (a stay status provided by law). Since 8 May 2026 this provision also extends to asylum seekers (in the procedure established by law) and to refugees granted asylum in Armenia who belong to the same groups — this was added by the amending law of 7 April 2026; before that the provision did not apply to refugees and asylum seekers. In other cases they use additional medical care services under this law and the Law on Refugees and Asylum. Of the four groups, points 11 and 12 apply in 2026 (with the income thresholds described above); point 15 (persons related to an insured person, voluntarily) from 2027, point 14 for taxi drivers from 2027 and for people engaged in agriculture from 2028 (from 2027 in settlements with "affected" status). A resident under the law is a person who during the 12 months before the date of insurance was actually present in Armenia for 183 days or more, counting the days of entry and exit (article 2, part 1, point 30).

If you do not fall within the system, you pay yourself for care beyond the minimum volume described below. For uninsured citizens of Armenia the state pays for a minimum volume of care — ambulance and urgent care, primary care with the family doctor, pregnancy monitoring and a number of types of hospital care (Government Decision No. 1974-N, annex 2, point 3). This minimum volume is set only for citizens of Armenia, so a foreigner without insurance pays for a planned appointment themselves. The same decision separately names asylum seekers and refugees granted asylum: they are among the groups entitled to additional services (annex 1, points 9 and 11). We have 461 doctors who see patients in Russian (/en/doctors?lang=ru, checked 17.09.2026); clinics and prices are in the /en/clinics and /en/analyses sections.

When an article is not the answer — call 103

With these signs you do not look up prices or book a test; you call an ambulance.

  • Chest pain or pressure lasting more than 5 minutes, especially with shortness of breath, cold sweat or nausea — call 103 immediately, without checking whether you are insured.
  • The face has drooped, an arm or a leg does not rise, speech is impaired, a sudden severe headache — call 103 and note the time it started.
  • The person does not respond to voice and touch, is struggling to breathe, is choking or the lips have turned blue — call 103.
  • Bleeding that does not stop with pressure — call 103.
  • Emergency and urgent care is provided without a referral, and by law medical organizations and health workers must provide it to every person, regardless of whether payment for it is guaranteed (Law on Medical Aid and Services to the Population, articles 28 and 31). For insured people the ambulance (up to 8 calls a year) is paid for by the insurance, and for uninsured citizens of Armenia by the state; whether it is free for a foreigner without insurance is not stated directly in the current rules. Do not delay the call because of insurance, citizenship or money: the ambulance is 103, the unified rescue service is 911 or 112, calls to these numbers are free and the lines work around the clock.

Where the data comes from

Read next

All pieces

This material is for reference and does not replace a consultation: it contains no diagnoses, treatment plans or dosages. Prices and tariffs change — check the terms with the organisation and with the fund before your visit. Medaro does not provide medical services and does not take appointments.